Peacock Swirl Using Natural Colorants

Who doesn’t like challenges? Even if they take time and energy, challenges are something I do with pleasure: there is always something to learn and you can never get bored of them.

Peacock swirl using natural colorants
When Amy announced her new idea of having each month a challenge, I was really content. The bad part was that I will not be here for the first challenge as we are leaving on holiday (which means no pc, no soap etc). But still I wanted to make this peacock soap as I have never had the time nor the chance to try it. So instead of preparing my luggage I made my peacock soap. The only problem was that I had no special bottles home for this challenge nor that cardboardΒ  but with some imagination, I quickly found the replacements. So instead of those bottles, I used bags ( as used for the leopard spotted soap) and instead of the cardboard with pix, I used a comb which I use when I cut my husband’s hair :).

Peacock swirl
For the colors I used: pink Australian clay, spirulina, yellow ochre and black Australian clay. I was so surprised by this blue shade given by the black clay.
The photo is not the best, I know, but this soap was made in the evening so I had no natural light.
Peacock swirl using natura colorants

15 Comments Add yours

  1. anna says:

    orice incercare iti iese foarte bine, felicitari si bon voyage:)

  2. Maja says:

    Wow Nat,it’s amazing! The colours are perfect, so wonderful! I cannot wait to see it cut! Hi,hi,using a comb?! And now,you’re a hairdresser,too? Such a crafty girl!
    Have a great holiday, you will have nice weather along the way, the temps has dropped to 20! Bravo on this one,Nat!

  3. Marga says:

    al weer een kunstwerkje! gr.
    Marga

  4. Sonia says:

    Fantastic!!! the coluors are wonderful!!
    Have a nice trip!

  5. Geta says:

    Oau, minunat, minunat, nu credeam ca se poate realiza o asa frumoasa coada de paun in sapun. Vacanta placuta !

  6. cannella says:

    Niceeeee ! Have a good trip !

  7. Gordana says:

    Really nicely done! Te natural colors turned out perfect!

  8. Cee says:

    Wow, wow, wow! This is spectacular for your first try Nat and with natural colors too…really impressive! Have a wonderful vacation! πŸ˜€

  9. Colchique says:

    Natalia, superbe savon ! Bravo pour cette très belle réussite !

  10. Jenny says:

    Wow, gorgeous colors, Natalia, and your peacock swirl looks great! I have to give that technique a try someday.

  11. Marika says:

    Beautiful colors, especially the yellow. I think yellow is my new favorite color πŸ™‚ You made a very pretty peacock swirl. I have not tried it yet, but maybe in a few weeks or so.

  12. How creative of you to make those substitutions. Even though you say the lighting isn’t great for your photo, you did a fabulous job with the soap.

    Have a lovely vacation.

  13. It’s really beautiful! Love your color choices

  14. It turned out so beautiful. I really the plots you choose!

  15. Very impressed that natural colorants gave you such beautiful, vivid colors! Gorgeous swirl!

Leave a Reply

